Home » , , » Transit movie is the Philippines Entry to Oscars

Transit movie is the Philippines Entry to Oscars

"Transit" is Philippines Entry to Oscars Awards 2013

"Transit," the acclaimed Cinemalaya 2013 film starring Jasmine Curtis-Smith, has been selected by the Film Academy of the Philippines (FAP) as the Philippines' official entry to the 86th Academy Awards which takes place in March 2014.
Directed by Hannah Espia, "Transit" figured in a three-way tie with Erik Matti's "On the Job" and Brillante Mendoza's "Thy Womb," was eventually chosen when the selection committee's head, director Peque Gallaga, voted in favor of "Transit."
Also part of the short-list deliberated upon by the seven-member special committee were Matti's "Tiktik: The Aswang Chronicles," Richard Somes' "Supremo," Mark Meily's "El Presidente," Cesar Apolinario and Marnie Manicad's "Dance of the Steel Bars," Jeffrey Jeturian's "Ekstra," Veronica Velasco's "Tuhog," and Ellen Ongkeko-Marfil's "Boses."
In its statement released Wednesday afternoon, FAP noted "Transit" was a last-minute entry as it only started its commercial exhibition on September 11. The release date is nonetheless still within the October 2012-September 2013 period specified in Oscar regulations.

"Transit" was earlier released in July as an entry in the New Breed category of the 9th Cinemalaya Independent Film Festival, where it won major awards including Best Film and Best Direction for Espia.

It also garnered the awards for Best Actress (Irma Adlawan), Best Supporting Actress (Jasmine Curtis-Smith), Best Cinematography (Ber Cruz), Best Editing (Benjamin Tolentino, Espia), and Best Original Music Score (Mon Espia).
Additionally, the film scored a number of special recognition - the Netpac Award, the Special Jury Citation for ensemble acting, and the Audience Choice Award.
Set in Herzliya, Israel, "Transit" tells the story of Moises (Ping Medina) and Janet (Irma Adlawan), two overseas Filipinos who are forced to hide their respective children (Marc Justine Alvarez, Jasmine Curtis-Smith) upon learning of the government's plan to deport children of foreign workers.
Produced by film director Paul Soriano, "Transit" is the fifth Cinemalaya original production selected as the Philippines' Oscars entry, after Auraeus Solito's "Ang Pagdadalaga ni Maximo Oliveros" (2006), Adolfo Alix Jr.'s "Donsol" (2007), Marlon Rivera's "Ang Babae sa Septic Tank" (2011), and Jun Lana's "Bwakaw" (2012).

Share This Post

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...